Current Issue

ASC selects Johnson to chair association

Comments Email
Andrew Johnson (left) shakes hands with outgoing ASC chair Rusty Thompson. Johnson was introduced as the association's next chair at its 2014 Fall Convention and Expo in Greenville, S.C.

GREENVILLE, S.C.—The Adhesive and Sealant Council unveiled its officers for the 2015-16 term, highlighted by Andrew Johnson being named chair of the association, during an address at the recent Fall Convention and Expo in Greenville.

Johnson, vice president and general manager of adhesives at Ashland Specialty Ingredients, served as vice chair and treasurer for the past two years.

Traci Jensen, senior vice president of the Americas at H.B. Fuller Co., was appointed as vice chair and treasurer while Rusty Thompson—president and CEO of Evans Adhesive Corp.—will shift from chair to outgoing chair.

ASC President Matt Croson said its officers are elected on a six-year cycle, starting at vice chair/treasurer, moving to chair and then to outgoing chair. Each office is for a two-year term. ADCO Products Inc. President Glenn Frommer will conclude his six-year officer cycle at the end of 2014, as the outgoing past chair.

“We have a very nicely balanced board,” Thompson said. “From large companies to small companies, its 100 percent focused on adding value. It's nice to see that blend when you're on the board and looking at topics that affect not only a large company, but a small company. That's one thing I can assure you that our board has done a very good job of. We have a very good balanced approach.”

Croson said in an interview following the presentation that generally the ASC looks for a balanced board and executive committee—which includes a mixture of large and small sized firms along with a diversity of market segments. However, the main element for chair or executive officer is active engagement.

“When you take a look at anyone who has been a chair at ASC, that's probably the unifying factor all of them will have. They have given to this community and have been recognized for leading the community they've been active in,” Croson said.

“One of the things Andy has been recognized for is his willingness to volunteer, his willingness to serve on a long-range planning committee and on the membership committee before that.”

Thompson said the ASC appointed Brian McSwigan, vice president of sales and marketing at Henkel Corp., to the Executive Committee, which includes Johnson, Jensen, Thompson, Croson and:

• Christine Bryant, senior vice president of commercial operations, Bayer MaterialScience L.L.C.;

• Gerhard Haas, vice president of research and development, Jowat Corp.; and

• Charles Williams Jr., senior research and development manager and principal scientist, Avery Dennison Corp.

The ASC also elected eight members to serve three-year terms as directors on the council's board. In addition to Johnson, Thompson and Williams, the ASC elected Ted Clark of Royal Adhesives and Sealants; Steve Rosenberg of Sika Corp.; Bob Marquette of Bostik Inc.; John Carroll of Eastman Chemical Co.; and Mark Schneider of Albion Engineering Co.

Rosenberg took over Steve Harms' seat on the board earlier this year because Harms retired from Sika. His term ran through 2014.

The ASC said earlier that Forest Driggs, vice president at Franklin International, will fill Larry Owen's seat on the board. Owen's term runs through 2016. He will continue to serve on the ASC's global resources committee and had served on the board of directors for more than 16 years, including a term as its chair.